NEWS
BIOGRAPHY
DISCOGRAPHY
MUSIC

VIDEOS
PHOTOS
PRESS

LINKS
CONTACT

IMPRESSUM

 

B I O G R A P H Y

ENGLISH VERSION

               Stytz - Gitarrist, Sänger und Composer - beginnt seine Karriere in US-Clubs, schliesst sich Mitte der 60er Jahre der regional erfolgreichen R&B Corporation an und tritt mit der Band im Vorprogramm von Stars wie Brian Auger, Rory Gallagher und Alexis Korner auf.

1969 gründet er die Rockband Erna Schmidt, die in ganz Deutschland tourt und nach einem mehrtägigen Gastspiel im Berliner Quartier Latin beim OHR-Label einen Plattenvertrag unterschreibt. Die Band tritt im TV auf und wird in den Popshop-Studios des SWR in Baden-Baden produziert.

In den 70er Jahren tourt Stytz u.a. mit Hellmut Hattler, arbeitet als Studiomusiker und schreibt Songs für das Album "Big City", das er 1979 aufnimmt, welches aber nicht veröffentlicht wird. 1982 holt ihn Jack Bruce als Gitarrist der Jack Bruce / Bernd Konrad Band auf die Bühne. Im Jahr darauf lernt Stytz den Texter Peter Graf kennen, mit dem er bis heute zusammenarbeitet.

Mit seiner neuen Band Stytz Syndicate bringt er das Live-Album "Still Hungry" heraus, 1991 gefolgt vom Studio-Album "Best Before", das bei in-akustik erscheint. Das Album findet grossen Anklang bei der Musikpresse und wird auf einer Deutschland-Tour präsentiert. Es folgen Radio- und Fernsehauftritte. In diesem Zusammenhang produziert der SWR, unter der Regie von Dieter Zimmermann, ein TV-Porträt des Musikers Stytz.

In den 90er Jahren trifft Stytz zum ersten Mal auf Willy DeVille während dessen "Southern Comfort Tour" und wird daraufhin eingeladen bei der "New Orleans Revue", u.a. mit Dr. John, mitzuwirken. Im Sommer 2001 spielt Stytz beim "Jamboree Festival" mit Van Morrison, im darauffolgenden Jahr ist er "special guest" beim Bob Dylan Open Air in Schwäbisch Gmünd.

Im Juli 2001 wird die CD "Flame of Love" veröffentlicht, die neben dem neu produzierten Titeltrack die Live-LP "Still Hungry" und ausgewählte Songs aus dem unveröffentlichten Album "Big City" enthält, die damit erstmals auf CD erscheinen. Im März und April 2005 spielt Stytz mit Willy DeVille & The Mink DeVille Band auf der "Crow Jane Alley Tour". Im selben Jahr folgt das Album "Live In Munich" (feat. Günther Reger), das während dieser Tour mitgeschnitten wurde. Im März 2006 wurde Stytz für weitere Konzerte nach Holland eingeladen.

NEWS
BIOGRAPHY
DISCOGRAPHY
MUSIC

VIDEOS
PHOTOS
PRESS

LINKS
CONTACT

IMPRESSUM

 

B I O G R A P H Y

DEUTSCHE VERSION

               Stytz - guitarplayer, singer and composer - started his career in US-Clubs in Southern Germany. In the mid-60's he joined the R&B Corporation. With this band Stytz performed with Brian Auger, Rory Gallagher, Alexis Korner and others.

In 1969 he founded Erna Schmidt, with whom he toured all over Germany. After several days of playing at the Quartier Latin in Berlin they were offered to sign a record deal. The band appeared on TV shows and was produced by the Popshop studios of the SWR in Baden-Baden.

In the 70's, Stytz toured with several bands as for example Hellmut Hattler. At the same time he worked as a studio musician and wrote songs for the album "Big City" which he recorded in 1979 but was never released. In 1982 Jack Bruce once invited him to play live performances. The following year Stytz met lyric-writer Peter Graf. They got on well together right from the beginning and work together up to the present day.

In 1985 Stytz toured with his band Stytz Syndicate and released the live album "Still Hungry", followed by the studio album "Best Before" (in-akustik) in 1991. This album received great feedback by music related media - especially the single "This Must Be Everything", which received a lot of airplay as well as TV appearances of Stytz Syndicate. The same year SWR produced a TV documentary of Stytz, directed by Dieter Zimmermann.

In the early 90's Stytz met for the first time Willy DeVille during the "Southern Comfort Tour" and then was invited to support the "New Orleans Revue", with Dr. John and others. In summer 2000 Stytz played at the "Jamboree Festival" which featured Van Morrison. One year later Stytz was special guest at the Bob Dylan Open Air in Schwäbisch Gmünd, Germany.

In July 2001 Stytz released the CD "Flame Of Love", which contains the brand new title track, the Live-LP "Still Hungry" and selected songs from the previously unreleased album "Big City". In March-April 2005 Stytz supported Willy DeVille & The Mink DeVille Band on their "The Crow Jane Alley Tour". A live recording from this tour was released as "Live In Munich" (feat. Günther Reger). In March 2006 Stytz was invited for several more gigs in Holland.